2022 – NFF Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter

The Walter J. Zable / San Diego Chapter honors outstanding high school and college athletes at an awards banquet each year.  The Scholar-Leader-Athletes are recognized for their ability as football players, as well as their scholastic excellence and community leadership.

Students are nominated by their schools and coaches.  Minimum requirements for nomination are all-league honors in football, a GPA of 3.0 or better, and outstanding citizenship on and off the campus.

2022 Scholar-Leader-Athletes

Trey WhiteEastlake
Joey CheekCathedral Catholic
Jaxson MoiCathedral Catholic
Tano LetuliCathedral Catholic
Cooper DurfeeLCC
Ben EyerMission Hills
Trenton GilesGrossmont
Sam AlligoodLa Jolla Country Day
Jayden CortellEastlake
Diego GallegoVincent Memorial Catholic
Joseph HolensteinGrossmont
Thomas GreupnerSanta Fe Christian
Jake BolinSt. Augustine
Juan Estrada Jr.Montgomery
Diego ElorduyVincent Memorial Catholic
Cesar OchoaBorrego Springs
Nate DorseyHorizon Prep
Juan ReyesWarner Springs
Mason PowersLa Jolla
Jackson StrattonLa Jolla
Braden ObergWest Hills
Demarion SmithLincoln
Benjamin EffressFrancis Parker
Zach RowellTorrey Pines
Lucky SuttonCathedral Catholic
Jayden KendricksEastlake
Christian SaremCarlsbad
Haydn BrotschiOtay Ranch
Kamaehu KamakaUSD

Willie Jones Most Inspirational Player

Yad GalalyWest Hills

Coach of the Year

John Joyner, Mater Dei Catholic

Contribution to Amateur Football

Jerry Schniepp

Most Outstanding Official of the Year

Scott Reilly

Distinguished American

William McColl, MD