2023/2024 Nominations for Scholar Athletes

Coaches, please submit your nominations here: Nomination Form

Dear Coaches, Athletic Directors, and Principals,

For over the past 50 years, the Walter J. Zable/San Diego Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame has been honoring football scholar-athletes. The program’s success is a tribute to the excellent academic and athletic opportunities available in San Diego. Scholarship opportunities will be available to our scholar-leader-athlete recipients.  

Every year since 1995, the NFF/SDC has selected one player for the Willie Jones Most Inspirational Player award. This award is given to a student athlete who has overcome major adversity in their life and has gone on to succeed both in the classroom and on the field.

2023-2024 Nomination Form

Each year, we request every high school to nominate its most deserving football scholar-athlete based on three criteria: (1) academic achievement (minimum cumulative 3.0 GPA) – 40%; (2) football athletic ability (1st or 2nd Team All-League selection preferred) – 40%; and, (3) campus leadership and citizenship – 20%. This year, we request each coach to nominate up to four scholar-athletes. (one, two, three or four) regardless of whether they are offensive or defensive players. Please find attached letter from the NFF Board President sharing more information about our awards and selection criteria.

A selection committee reviews the nominees and will select scholar-athletes from all of the divisions in the San Diego Section. Also selected will be the Walter J. Zable Player of the Year Award. These awards will be presented to each individual at our annual banquet to be held on March 1, 2024, at the Double Tree Hilton Mission Valley. Parents, relatives, friends, coaches and school officials are encouraged to attend.  As the head coach, it should be a priority that the nomination form be returned with no deserving student overlooked.  For those athletes nominated, but not selected as a winner, they will receive a certificate designating their nomination, from the National Football Foundation. 

Please fill out the nomination form no later than January 8, 2024. It is very important that you complete the Leadership/Citizenship section completely, as it is graded 20%. Please include a TRANSCRIPT with the nomination form.

If you have any questions, please call or email Krystalyn Bauer at the email and phone listed below.

We greatly appreciate your cooperation in this very special awards program.


John Nielsen

President of the Board of Directors for

National Football Foundation – Walter Zable Chapter

T: 619.736.5821 | nffsandiego@gmail.com www.nffsandiego.org | Follow us on Twitter @nffsdchapter